CEP Webinar: Countering Extremism While Protecting Freedom of Speech with Jacob Mchangama

Tuesday, Mar 29, 2022

CEP discussion with Jacob Mchangama on his new book Free Speech: A Global History from Socrates to Social Media.

This webinar explores his thought-provoking insight into the origins of free speech, what it means, whether it should protect blasphemy, hate speech, and fake news, and if and how social media platforms should be regulated. Jacob Mchangama is the founder and executive director of the Danish think tank Justitia and host of the podcast Clear and Present Danger: A History of Free Speech. He has written extensively on free speech and human rights in world renowned media outlets including the Economist, Washington Post, Foreign Affairs, Wall Street Journal, and Politico. Mchangama’s writing has also appeared in several academic and peer-reviewed journals.

Tuesday, March 29, 2022 11.00 EDT / 16.00 GMT / 17.00 CET

Speakers:

Jacob Mchangama, founder and executive director of Justitia

Liam Duffy, CEP strategic advisor

Ian Acheson, CEP senior advisor

Remote video URL

Daily Dose

Extremists: Their Words. Their Actions.

Fact:

On June 24, 2017, Tehrik-i Taliban Pakistan (TTP) launched back-to-back explosions at a market in Kurram Agency of Federally Administered Tribal Areas (FATA) in northwest Pakistan. The attack killed 67 people who were shopping in preparation for a religious holiday and wounded 200 others. 

View Archive

CEP on Twitter