CEP Webinar: Islamism – Bridging the Atlantic Divide

(New York, N.Y./London) – The Counter Extremism Project (CEP) invites you to our webinar Islamism – Bridging the Atlantic Divide.

The recent spate of jihadist terror attacks in Europe has highlighted concerns over domestic Islamist movements, with French President Emmanuel Macron’s campaign against “Islamist Separatism” garnering considerable attention. Meanwhile, recent comments from U.S. journalists have caused some resentment in France, emphasizing their lack of awareness of the different challenges facing both American and European societies.

The discussion will focus on the unique challenges facing France and other European states, coming from both Islamism and jihadist violence.

 Islamism – Bridging the Atlantic Divide
Monday, December 14, 2020
11:30 a.m. EST / 16.30 GMT / 17.30 CET

Opening remarks:
Lucinda Creighton, CEP Senior Advisor in Europe, Former Irish Minister of State for European Affairs

Moderator:
Liam Duffy, London-based CEP Advisor, author of CEP’s latest report; Gradualists to Jihadists: Islamist Narratives in the West

Speakers:
Caroline Fourest, French commentator, writer, director, and former Charlie Hebdo columnist
Sir John Jenkins, former U.K. Ambassador to Syria, Iraq, Libya, and Saudi Arabia who led the review into the Muslim Brotherhood

To register for the webinar, please follow this link:
https://us02web.zoom.us/webinar/register/WN_cyMz8dSAQt2iBSZcfoBuAw

Daily Dose

Extremists: Their Words. Their Actions.

Fact:

On June 24, 2017, Tehrik-i Taliban Pakistan (TTP) launched back-to-back explosions at a market in Kurram Agency of Federally Administered Tribal Areas (FATA) in northwest Pakistan. The attack killed 67 people who were shopping in preparation for a religious holiday and wounded 200 others. 

View Archive

CEP on Twitter