CEP Webinar with Dr. Hany Farid: How algorithmic amplification pushes users towards divisive content on social media platforms

(New York, N.Y./Brussels) – The Counter Extremism Project (CEP) is delighted to invite you to the first in a series of webinars with CEP Senior Advisor and UC Berkeley Professor Dr. Hany Farid.

Misinformation and polarizing views have always existed, but the Internet and social media have accelerated the speed and reach with which lies and conspiracies spread.

This webinar will explore the nature and extent of the global phenomenon of misinformation, the role of algorithmic amplification in spreading it, the consequences, as well as possible technological and regulatory interventions, including the upcoming EU Digital Services Act.

Our webinar will also examine: 

  • The business model behind social media algorithms that has been designed to push forward extreme and divisive content;
  • The extent to which these algorithms have contributed to the propagation of misinformation and radicalization;
  • Policymaker responses to this phenomenon which intend to establish transparency measures for recommendation algorithms; and
  • Possible other solutions and further steps to overcome unaddressed challenges related to social media algorithms.

How algorithmic amplification pushes users towards divisive content on social media platforms

Wednesday, June 30

08.00 PST / 11.00 EST / 16.00 GMT / 17.00 CET

 via Zoom

Speakers:

Tiemo Wölken, MEP, Socialists & Democrats. Committee on Legal Affairs (JURI) coordinator

Prabhat Agarwal, Head of ‘Digital Services and Platforms’ Unit, DG Connect at the European Commission

Dr. Hany Farid, Professor at UC Berkeley and CEP Senior Advisor

Moderated by:

Lucinda Creighton, CEP Europe Advisor and former Irish Minister for European Affairs  

To register, please click here.

Daily Dose

Extremists: Their Words. Their Actions.

View Archive

CEP on Twitter