CEP Report Launch: Western Foreign Fighters and the Yazidi Genocide

(New York, N.Y./London) – The Counter Extremism Project (CEP) invites you to the launch of our latest report Western Foreign Fighters and the Yazidi Genocide.

As Western states face an ongoing dilemma over the fate of their stranded and captured “foreign fighters”, award-winning historian and author, Tom Holland and President of YAZDA, Haider Elias will join CEP to discuss the role of foreign fighters in the Yazidi genocide and the search for justice. In August 2014, ISIS launched an assault on Sinjar, home to Iraq’s vulnerable Yazidi religious minority. More than 3,000 Yazidis are thought to have been killed in the initial assault, many in mass executions, with almost 7,000 Yazidi women and children kidnapped and enslaved throughout ISIS’s so-called caliphate.

So far, justice for these crimes has not been delivered. This discussion aims to highlight Yazidi survivors’ ongoing fight for justice and the underexplored role of Westerners in the atrocities. We hope you can join us.

Western Foreign Fighters and the Yazidi Genocide
Tuesday, March 16, 2021
11:00 a.m. CST / 12:00 p.m. EST / 16.00 GMT / 17.00 CET

Speakers:

  • Tom Holland, award-winning historian, author, and broadcaster
  • Haider Elias, president, YAZDA, the leading Yazidi human rights NGO
  • Liam Duffy, London-based CEP strategic advisor, author of CEP’s latest report: Western Foreign Fighters and the Yazidi Genocide

Moderated by: 

  • Lucinda Creighton, CEP senior advisor in Europe, former Irish Minister of State for European Affairs

To register for the webinar, click here.  

Daily Dose

Extremists: Their Words. Their Actions.

In Their Own Words:

God forbid, if a time comes when we have no choice but to watch our citizens breathe their final breaths, and when there are no ventilators… we will make six million Israeli settlers unable to breathe.

Yahya Sinwar, Leader of Hamas in Gaza Apr. 2, 2020
View Archive

CEP on Twitter